Chemical Vapor Deposition for the Fabrication of Thin Films in Advanced Materials Processing

Pr. Yogesh JALURIA

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA.

A wide variety of materials, such as gallium nitride, aluminum nitride and indium gallium nitride, are of interest in applications like power electronics, photovoltaic cells and light-emitting diodes. High-quality, high-performance, thin films of these materials are often obtained by Chemical Vapor Deposition (CVD), which involves precursors that react and deposit on a wafer or substrate. The quality of the film and the deposition rate are largely determined by the transport processes that arise in the reactor. This presentation discusses the fundamental considerations that may be used to accurately model and simulate these systems. Validation of the model is achieved by comparing with experimental results. Different flow regimes arise, with different analysis and experimentation being needed at different scales. The simulation is employed to determine the quality of the thin film produced, process efficiency and optimal conditions. Of particular interest are high productivity, minimal loss of precursor gases and high film thickness uniformity. These results are valuable in practical CVD processes for materials of interest in power devices, LEDs and solar energy.


Pr. Yogesh JALURIA : Board of Governors Professor and Distinguished Professor at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey. His research work is in the field of thermal science and engineering. He is the author/co-author of ten books and has contributed over 500 technical articles, including 219 in archival journals and 18 book chapters. He has received several awards and honors for his work, such as the prestigious 2007 Kern Award from AIChE, the 2003 Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award from ASME, and the 2002 Max Jakob Memorial Award, the highest international recognition in heat transfer, from ASME and the AIChE. He has served as Department Chairman and as Dean of Engineering. He was the Editor of the Journal of Heat Transfer (2005-2010), and Computational Mechanics (2003-2005). He is an Honorary Member of ASME and a Fellow of AAAS and APS. He was the founding President of the American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers (ASTFE) and served from 2014 to 2019.